Happy Anniversary to Loraine and Ernie, from Paula

I attended my daughter’s couple’s shower last night. It brought back memories of the beginning of my new life 31 some years ago when I married Frank. Could you even begin to imagine all the changes and adventures that lay in store for you?

I wonder if Loraine and Ernie Ritchey knew 40 years ago that they would be celebrating Liz’s new beginning with us this evening.

Sunday August 18th they will be celebrating 40 years of wedded bliss. Right Ernie?

Seriously though, that is no small accomplishment in today’s society.

The development of a really good marriage is not a natural process. It is an achievement.
David and Vera Mace

40 Years ago would they have even envisioned the two wonderful children they’ve brought into this world.

Ritchey

They certainly didn’t imagine ending up here in Lorain, Ohio.

One man by himself is nothing. Two people who belong together make a world.
Hans Margolius

Thank you Loraine and Ernie for being a part of our world.

Thank you Ernie for bringing Loraine to Lorain.
Spouse: someone who’ll stand by you through all the trouble you wouldn’t have had if you’d stayed single.
Anonymous

9 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary to Loraine and Ernie, from Paula

  1. Congratulations, Loraine and Ernie!! You’ve both been blessed, and we’ve been blessed to have you in our lives! Here’s to many many more years together!!

    (Clinking of glasses as we all toast)

  2. Who is that masked woman !?!

    Not me that for sure I am blonde and weigh 130 lbs….. you guys are BADDDDDDDDDD – thanks guys and gals…… that was lovely and very much appreciated….. Love Loraine and ( Rich) I never call him Ernie . When I met him I asked his name . Ernie he replied errrrrrrr your middle name LEROY errrrrrrrr last name Ritchey .thank god if it had been a name witn no vowels he would have been history 🙂 so Rich in name only 🙂

  3. It was 40 years ago, give or take a week or two, that I had the honor of being the best man at Ernie and Loraine’s wedding in Finchley Park.

    Both Ernie and I were Air Force radio technicians stationed at South Ruislip Air Base. Along with Jesse Torres, we shared a flat in Harrow-on-the-Hill, a London suburb.

    Now, when Ernie asked me to be his best man I was pretty nervous about it. And, Ernie, Ernie was cool as a cucumber. That only made me feel worse – after all, who’s getting married here anyway?

    The wedding day rolled around and I’m pacing nervously at Loraine’s house in Finchley while Ernie is in some sort of blissful Zen-like state. Loraine’s dad kind of took me under his wing and was trying to put me at ease. At some point outside the church I told him that I had some sort dreaded feeling, like I forgot something. He asked me several questions, of which, I can only remember the last one – have you got the ring? A frantic search of pockets ensues and – NO! I FORGOT THE RING! With the wedding just minutes away we dashed to the car and sped to the house. I wandered around the living room for a bit trying to re-trace my steps and then I saw it resting on top of the mantle. Back in the car for a mad dash to the church and it seemed to me that no one even noticed that were gone for awile! After that, the wedding went off smoothly.

    Throughout the dash for the ring I remember Loraine’s dad as having an amused smile on his face. He was having fun!

    Anyway, I thouht that I’d share that wedding day story with your friends.

    Ernie, Loraine, Happy Anniversary and many more to come.

    Love,

    Randy Catley

  4. Yeah it was the reception with the champagne fight the fire buckets being dumped on peoples heads and a certain best man who in spiite of his nerves gave at least 8 toasts to the bride and groom…. the last ones being no more than “fill your glasses let’s toast” that certainly wasn’t calm and zen like… I seem to remember driving you and a wedding guest home whilst the groom went off with someone else and then they all ended back at the flat for a party…… 🙂

    Thanks for the memory Randy and NO I didn’t know about the ring 🙂

Leave a comment