FISI – Sometimes You Can’t Even See’em

A few weeks back, I got invited to Paula’s Pothole Party. The first venue was at the corner of E. 34th and Elyria Avenue. While we waited for everything to get set up, one of Chuck’s right-hand men (sorry, I don’t know his name, Tony?) and I were looking around, wandering around E. 34th, when he stopped, and looked in through some trees on this wooded lot.

 

Innocent enough, right? Well, imagine my surprise when a voice came out of those trees and overgrowth and said, “I’m reading the newspaper.” I spun around and looked at (I’m going to call him Tony from now on) Tony as if to say, ‘WTF?!’ Tony wasn’t looking at me, he was answering the voice, ‘Sorry.’ It was all done in the tone as if someone had just opened the bathroom door on someone who forgot to lock it.

Come to find out, deep within the reaches of those trees and overgrowth, is a house.

Near as I can tell, the house hidden in the trees above is the house below.

Notice the tell-tale peaked roof and the small chimney. Six years is what it took for that to be overgrown, as the auditor’s photo is dated April 25, 2002. Donald and Tammy Scarbro of 415 E. 34th St.

Needless to say, before the pothole presentation started, a phone call was placed to the Building Department. I will keep all apprised of the situation.

12 thoughts on “FISI – Sometimes You Can’t Even See’em

  1. That was Tony J (Jacinto) that was with us.
    Maybe if they (the homeowners or landlord) thought they were stealth the Bldg Dept wouldn’t see them?
    I might add I did go by Paula’s Potholes and they’re looking quite lovely.
    We must do a photo shoot of my new Hard Hat with Pitch Patch Paula on the front and Super Patcher Logos on the sides, I’m sure everyone will be jealous 😉

  2. Welcome to the jungle
    We’ve got fun ‘n’ games
    We got everything you want
    Honey, we know the names
    We are the people that can find
    Whatever you may need
    If you got the money, honey
    We got your disease

    ~ Axl Rose, Guns N’ Roses

  3. BTW, the song quoted above is “Welcome To The Jungle” by GNR, just in case you weren’t familiar with it.
    😉
    [h/t to Mr. Buster’s Momma (ha ha) for the comment suggestion]

  4. I knew I should have just posted all the lyrics, because a lot of it does apply to some of the things that go on around here!

    for example:

    Welcome to the jungle
    It gets worse here everyday
    Ya learn ta live like an animal
    In the jungle where we play
    If you got a hunger for what you see
    You’ll take it eventually
    You can have anything you want
    But you better not take it from me

Leave a Reply

