New HDR Views

I stopped by one of the many little beaches along Rt 6 between Lorain and Avon Lake. I’d seen a lot of pics of the water with long exposures, some HDR special effects, and other photoshopped touches. I wanted to see what I could get, and what I could do with it. The date was May 23 and Lake Erie, west of where I was, was looking pretty nasty.

I shot all of these within the space of 10 minutes. The wind was starting to pick up, and the waves were getting bigger. (If you open the above photos to a larger size by clicking on them, you’ll see a lot of the detail that results from blending 7 photos of varying brightness.)

With these two photos of the stones, as I played with the slider bars, I realized I wasn’t going to get what I was looking for. Instead, I thought I could tweak these so that they looked almost as if you could reach out and touch them.

The storm hit shortly after I got home, and the skies opened up. As the front moved on, we moved to the east side of the house to look for a rainbow. We were not disappointed.

Leave a Reply

