Food Is Just a Side Gig…

Way back when, in another life, food was my thing. I majored in Business and Food Administration at University of Toledo, minored in Psych. I got a job at Chi-Chi’s Mexican Restaurante as a server, and was promoted to supervisor upon graduation. Later, I managed at six different stores around Ohio. When it became obvious that I wasn’t going to get anywhere without kissing the Area Supervisor’s backside, I jumped at the chance to get out of food, and into something I knew would support my growing family.

From four years of college, and eleven years in every position a restaurant could have, I picked up quite a bit of knowledge, and am quite comfortable in the kitchen. My cheesecakes are quite popular at family gatherings, and my kids love the long breaks in my shift rotation because they know Dad’s gonna have time to cook. Sunday was busy, because right after I got up, I started baking cookies for St. Nick’s bingo Tuesday night. Four-plus dozen oatmeal raisin and oatmeal butterscotch cookies, and two dozen to keep home.

My neighbor brought over some Roma tomatoes that are overflowing their garden (Thanks Nicole!!). I took one look at them and thought “Salsa!!” So, after cleaning and de-stemming grapes, and slicing some strawberries, I busted out the food processor AND the camera, and tried my hand at a little food photography. While I’ll definitely need more practice with the camera, I’ve definitely nailed my recipe for on-the-fly salsa.

Roma tomatoes  PLUS

sweet onions PLUS

jalapeno pepper and

place it all in a food processor. Add garlic, cilantro and salt to flavor, and

mix.

Chill, then add tortilla chips, friends and copious amounts of margarita, salt on the rim is optional.

Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Food Is Just a Side Gig…

Leave a Reply

