PhotoPhun Challenge: Lorain International Festival

This week’s PhotoPhun Challenge was proposed by Bryan Goldthorpe, and it was to get footage of the International Festival, held at Black River Landing in Lorain. This festival celebrates the cultural diversity in the City, and spotlights a particular heritage every year, with the Hungarian nationality selected for 2010.

Ā I’ll link you to Lisa’s, and post mine later today, as I’ve been busy all weekend, and will be making my visit to the International today (Sunday).Ā 

 

The crowd waiting on Broadway for the Parade.

Kaitlyn Knick, Slovak Princess

Women’s Drill Team

11 thoughts on “PhotoPhun Challenge: Lorain International Festival

  1. So that’s what purpose that brick stamping on Broadway serves. šŸ˜€ Neat effect!
    Great pictures, guys! Looks like you had a much better time than I did.
    Next week’s challenge is up for grabs!

  2. OMG !!!! I am laughing my head off .those aren’t dancers… actually Highland dancers would be most insulted by being compared with such ….. actually those are the “womens drill team of the what was the old Canadian Legion not sure who is their sponsor now…. yeah and I can say it because guess what I too was one of them 30 odd years ago …. I was going to add a “cow-elle opinion” but decided against it šŸ™‚

  3. The drill team was right in front of us. We almost ran them over once when the started a drill and we were not expecting it. I think I lost 5 lbs. walking in it yesterday. OK guys what is next? I have a busy weekend ahead so I need to get a jump on it.

  4. Thanks for the correction, Loraine, I changed the tag before someone else saw it. I saw the banner that preceded them, and thought I’d remember what it said, so I didn’t shoot it. Never again.

    Bryan, it’s Lisa’s turn, so we’re waiting on her. Unless Loraine comes up with something?

  5. Okay guys, after we’re done with circles, we’re doing Loraine’s challenge. But I’m gonna need a little bit more info about what you’re looking for, ma’am. šŸ˜‰

  6. OK well of course you could just use hooked shapes in the world but being me the definition for hook could be
    any one of the following scenarious

    getting the hook- when a performer was really bad the off stage hands would grab a big hook and pull the performer off the stage – so to photograph “getting the hook” a visual interpretation of something the photographers feels needed to be taken out of our life performance in Lorain ( or else where – eg. the gushing oil comes to mind as an example but locally of course) or even “knowing when to leave the stage šŸ™‚

    Sling your hook- ( referring to upping or throwing the anchor …. anchors šŸ™‚

    Off the hook…..can think of lots of pictorials for that one for

    hooked up …..it has endless possibilities just that little hook šŸ™‚ now if only I could take photos šŸ™‚

  7. Trust me I have been known to point the thing backwards , cut off peoples heads – it takes patience I believe and anything that takes patience well let us just say I can’t knit, sew, or bake either ……….

Leave a Reply

