Break the Spell of the Typical

Recently, I was paging through my ‘Buddies’ on a networking site that I belong to, and I noticed that someone who once listed me as a ‘Buddy’ had removed the link. The first thing I thought of was an article I had written concerning getting out of your comfort zone. When I mentioned the drop and the article to my wife, her first reaction was, “She obviously saw herself in the article and took offense.” I believe she’s right.

Oh well.

In an email exchange with someone who uses my pics, I was thanked for their use. I, in turn, thanked HER for the ‘assignments’ and the opportunity to further my experience with my camera and the photography of a huge variety of settings and places and subjects. I think I get a little better every 1000 or so pics.

I’ve had a few folks email me and say ‘Thanks’ for the article and the push that it gave them to try different things with their camera. Or with something that was going on in their lives.

Seriously, getting out of your comfort zone could apply to SO MANY things. I traded IM’s with a person that works for the City last night, and this person lamented the things that COULD be done to improve the City, but with personality conflicts and personal agendas, it was doubtful anything could be accomplished.

Which takes me to the voting practices of the majority of the City. Democrats have had a voting majority in this City for the longest time, and a large amount of people continue to complain about the condition and agendas of people on Council and running the City.

Folks, you have the power. If you always do what you always did, you’ll always get what you’ve always got.

Break the Spell of the Typical.

(I was going to link this video when I wrote ‘Comfort Zone’, but thought it would be a bit of overkill. The group is called MuteMath. The video definitely breaks the spell. The video is shown in reverse, but the lead singer is singing the lyrics FROM THE BEGINNING. Just watch it and I hope you enjoy the music. I think you’ll enjoy the video.)

Come on, can’t I dream for one day
There’s nothing that can’t be done
But how long should it take somebody
Before they can be someone

Cause I know there’s got to be another level
Somewhere closer to the other side
And I’m feeling like it’s now or never
Can I break the spell of the typical, the typical

I’ve lived through my share of misfortune
And I’ve worked in the blazing sun
But how long should it take somebody
Before they can be someone

Cause I know there’s got to be another level
Somewhere closer to the other side
And I’m feeling like it’s now or never
Can I break the spell of the typical, the typical, the typical

I’m the typical
I’m the typical
Can I break the spell of the typical

Because it’s dragging me down
I’d like to know about when
When does it all turn around

I’m just the typical
I’m just the typical

Yeah I know there’s got to be another level
Somewhere closer to the other side
And I’m feeling like it’s now or never
Can I break the spell of the typical

The typical, the typical, uh huh
Of the typical

Break the spell (of the typical)
Break the spell (of the typical)
Can I break the spell of the typical, of the typical

I’m just the typical
I’m just the typical
I’m just the typical
I’m just the typical

 

2 thoughts on “Break the Spell of the Typical

  1. I think I get a little better every 1000 or so pics.

    I happen to think you are DIAMOND!!! and if someone has dropped your from being a buddy…..their loss..but as one who is “dropped” on a daily basis unless they are giving you their kidney don’t sweat it … they will probably need you before you need them 🙂

  2. I’m still here if ya need me Henrey, no matter how many slices of pizza ya owe me.

    I’ve learned to play the Star Spangled Banner with my arm pit, so you owe me another slice of pizza for losing that bet!

Leave a Reply

