A Year Ago Today…

I officially dedicated myself full-time to this blog. I had said my goodbye’s and left the nest.

It’s been fun. It has. It’s been more work, of course, but I don’t have to worry about work I’d spent quite a bit of time on, getting buried under another’s post an hour after I published. And there are times I had to dig deep and scrape just to get new material here to keep from losing everyone’s interest.

There are things that I planned on doing here that just didn’t happen. There are things I hadn’t planned on doing that I did, and I’m quite happy I made the time.

More buildings got knocked down before they fell on folks, and balloons lifted up in Wellington last year. First time, I believe, in the County. I had done this in August of 2007 and sent it to the County Commissioners. I posted this less than a year later. Coinky-dink? Maybe.

I kept up on my commitment to cover our Armed Forces last year.

I covered quite a bit of sports, but that was mostly an affair of the heart, rather than work.

I continued to spotlight Metroparks events. That was more love than labor, too.

I can honestly say, that even though it’s been more work going solo, it’s work that I love.

I’m making an effort to do more ‘County’ things, rather than ‘City of Lorain’ things. I was warmly welcomed by Avon Mayor Jim Smith for this article, and will do follow-ups as Opening Day approaches.

I think the busiest time, and the most news-worthy item around the area was the Bascule Bridge debacle.

So, a year has passed, and I’m a year older, wiser, and a bit more experienced. Whether that’s good or bad, only time will tell.

Thanks for your time, and your visits, and your input.

Time to get back to work.

Lovin’ it every step of the way.

5 thoughts on “A Year Ago Today…

  1. I can’t believe it has been a year already. It seems to be true that the older you get the faster time seems to pass. As you know, I was less than supportive of the break up, thinking that the splinter group had betrayed something wonderful. I hate when I shoot my mouth off only to find out a short time later that I was on the wrong side of right. Little did we know it was something wonderful that was betrayed by it’s self..
    Now, ONE year later the BLOG world of Lorain is better for it. We the loyal blog readers of Lorain and beyond owe the bloggers that chose to stand up for themselves and the blog they once loved a huge Thank you! A big thank you to Mark, you shared the Island BBQ w us, forced us to take pause to enjoy nature, gave us a different perspective of a tree stump, reminded us the importance of sharing a sunset with our children. Of course the FiSi and fireworks throughout the year.Thank you for your hard work and dedication to your Blog, YOUR IDEALS, and the citizens of Lorain

  2. Thanks a ton, Brian, Loraine, and BC. I appreciate the support, and all the help I’ve received from you over the past year. Your comments and suggestions mean a lot!

    Looking forward to Year 2!

Leave a Reply

