Mary’s Sweet Shop – The Tasty Sequel

I spent a day in the kitchen playing with chocolate. It’s a good thing I only bought 8 pounds of it otherwise I’d still be there.  I had planned on doing chocolate-covered peanuts and raisins, and possibly using some molds for shapes.  I had done some shopping before starting the chocolate, and spied a bag of large marshmellows and my Mrs. found a bag of shredded coconut. She had to drag me from the store screaming about doing shortbread and graham crackers.

Let me tell you, there’s nothing like creating goodies that you know folks are gonna go berserk over. I didn’t want to stop! But here’s what I did do. I had half of a bag of cranberries left (I had made 3 dozen Oatmeal-Cranberry-White Chocolate cookies the day before), so I covered those in chocolate. And I covered the peanuts and raisins. I dipped the large marshmellows, I found a bag of pretzels in the cupboard and covered those, too. I toasted the shredded coconut and made haystacks. And I only sampled the covered cranberries (woooooooooooooooooo! Them be tasty!!)

Toasted coconut haystacks and covered raisins

Chocolate-covered cranberries and marshmellows

Chocolate-covered peanuts and pretzels

There’s still time to make some sweet treats for the folks on your Christmas list. And all you have to do is make a visit to Mary’s Sweet Shop!! 215 East Erie Avenue, just over the Bascule Bridge, on the left. 440-288-9282.

6 thoughts on “Mary’s Sweet Shop – The Tasty Sequel

  1. I remember doing this during Easter time when my children were little. YES it is great fun and it also gives you a sense of sharing with others. A perfect addition to any holiday or event happening. We can always find a reason for chocolate.

  2. Wow, you are so ambitious!

    Thank you for your posts on Mary’s. Thanks to you, I went and got chocolate lighthouses today (and of course I couldn’t resist picking up a few other things).

    My neighbor is her nephew, and I got to taste her wedding cake at his wedding two summers ago.

  3. I enjoy goofin’ in the kitchen, Rona. Got 2 associates degrees from U of Toledo in Food. I was bored the other day and made (since I bought a whole container of oatmeal for the Cranberry cookies) almost 4 dozen Oatmeal-Raisin-White Chocolate cookies and then a batch each of Peanut Butter and then Chocolate Fudge. Givin’ most of the chocolate and fudge away with gifts for Christmas.

    Glad to hear my Mary’s articles got at least one other person to patronize her shop. Found out the other day that my grandparents were very close friends of Mary’s in-laws.

    I think the chocolate candy is going to have to be a regular thing at Christmas.

Leave a Reply

