Lorain County Metroparks: The Bridgeway Trail

Back in May I was able to pay a brief visit to the recently opened ‘Steel Mill Trail’, created by the Lorain County Metroparks. Less than a month after that, I was able to bike the entire trail with my son, Michael. At the end of July, I biked it again with Michael, and my daughter Kristen was able to make it this time, having found a free spot in her busy social schedule. Bikes loaded into the truck and away we went.

We biked the Steel Mill Trail first, as Kristen wanted to see this. We played Peek-a-boo with the sun, riding in and out of the shade of the countless trees that lined the trail. Roughly 2 miles from Days Dam to Rt 611, we did the 4 mile round-trip in good time. We stopped by the truck parked at Days Dam to hit the drinks I packed in a cooler and take a break. Refreshed and ready, we headed south onto The Bridgeway Trail.

Even more shaded than The Steel Mill trail, this southern pathway was comfortably cool and quiet. Not having done any research on this before we left, I trusted that wherever the trail went, we’d be fine. I knew from reading earlier that this trail ended by Rt 254 and Rt 2, but wasn’t sure exactly where, and wasn’t worried about it.

 

Nature’s critters are abundant along the trail, in the skies, in the brush, and even under the leaves.

 

The scenery is quite breathtaking, too.

If you’ve got the time to venture off the trail, and down some of the paths that have been created, you may even find yourself a little Shangri-La to relax in, just like this couple found.

 

 

The river moved along at a good clip on this particular day, and was quite clear, too.

 

Having taught them when they were young, the first thing my kids did when they saw the river was to park their bikes and start skipping stones. This lasted until the first one spied the first big stone and started ‘kerplunking’ them.

 

 

Then the challenge was ‘who can hit the big rock first’. I started feeling a little guilty as I felt we were incringing on the above couple’s ‘together time’. A few more ‘kerplunks’ and we were on our way.

Just as we hit the 3-mile mark, my kids started to slow down and talk began of heading back. I convinced them that they could keep on, that the end couldn’t be too much farther. Having walked this on a school trip some years before, Michael agreed that we were almost there. We just weren’t sure where ‘there’ was. As the trees gave way to open field, I smiled because I was surprised at where the trail ended. It ends at Bur Oak Park. If you’ve never been there, it’s off of Ford Road. If that doesn’t help, if you’ve ever noticed the land beneath the bridge on Rt 2 that is halfway between Rt. 254 and Rt. 57, THAT is Bur Oak Park beneath you.

In the fall, the leaves make for some very picturesque scenery.

After taking a breather, and refreshing ourselves at the fountain, knowing that every rotation of the pedals meant a little closer to the truck, we set off.  By this time, neither of my young’uns cared if I stopped for photos, they were going back, and they knew I’d catch up.

I stopped once more for a shot of the old railroad bridge that passes over one of the two large footbridges on the trail.

 

Back in the truck and nursing their Powerades, my two math wizards started tallying the distances we biked. When they realized that back and forth over both trails totaled over 10 miles, they felt even MORE tired than what they were. I told them it was practice and a small warm-up for the walking we’d be doing when we vacationed in Washington, DC, a week-and-a-half away. They gave me fake groans, because they were looking forward to DC as much as I was.

So, I hope you enjoyed the trip as much as we did, and if you get the chance to go, I say ‘Go for it!’, it’s a blast!

One thought on “Lorain County Metroparks: The Bridgeway Trail

Leave a Reply

