AT&T Rings A Doozy

So, remember this? I know, it was only a few days ago, but they called this morning. Pretty fair response time. I guess.

So, my wife brings me the phone, as AT&T called at 9am and I’m still sleeping (looong weekend). So the rep tells me they couldn’t open any external links on company computers and did my email and the link have to do with the phone without service? Yes. Which phone? I give her the number. She says yes, I understand there was some damage to the phone. Yes, the hinge was cracked and superglued. Well, yes, she says, that would void the warranty, and there’s nothing we can do except charge you for a replacement phone.

Well, the rep I spoke with told me that the staff at the Device Center would be able to check to see if the screen outage was due to the damage to the hinge.

Yes, that’s correct.

But the clerk at the Center told me that there was nothing they could do to check because of the damage to the phone.

Yes, that’s correct.

Well, uh,….HUH?!

The damage to the phone and the hinge being superglued would void the warranty, and they would have had to charge you for a replacement phone.

But I made clear to the rep on the phone that there was damage to the hinge, due to the phone being dropped, that the hinge was superglued, there had been no electronics or anything showing, it was just a hinge problem, and he told me that the staff at the Device Center could determine if the screen outage was due to the damage.

Correct.

But she told me that they couldn’t check the screen because the phone was damaged.

Correct.

Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggggggggggggggggggggg!!!

Then why send me out there in the first place?!

Because the rep couldn’t see the damage over the phone.

I TOLD him there was damage when I spoke with him.

Yes, but he couldn’t see it.

So I drove 2 hours roundtrip for nothing?

Yes, well I’m sorry about that.

Well, I’m sorry doesn’t pay for the gas or the time that I lost having to drive out there for nothing!

I’m sorry about that, too.

At this point, I handed the phone to my wife, “You talk to her. I can’t.”

She asked my Mrs. if there was anything else she could help us with today.

She received a curt “No.”

Corporate headupyerass-itis has struck yet another company. I don’t know if I’ll ever understand it.

Maybe it’s better if I don’t.

I do know that I’ve rang a wrong number with AT&T.

3 thoughts on “AT&T Rings A Doozy

Leave a Reply

