Steel Mill Trail – Revisited

My son and I finally got the opportunity to get up to the entrance to the Steel Mill Trail, over by Day’s Dam off of E. 31st St. (My youngest was at Cedar Point, and I know I’m still gonna hear about going without her.) We unloaded the bikes from the back of my pickup and set out.

Shortly after starting the ride, we came across this fenced off area surrounding the railroad overpass.

 

Under the overpass:

On the other side of this, there’s another long bridge, east of which is this view:

 

 

You never really get too close to the Steel Mill, for obvious safety reasons I’m sure, but you can see it in the distance.

 

 

 

Though I did the northernmost part of the trial starting from the Rt 611 side walking the first time, the trail was really fun to do on bikes. There are a number of spots on the trail that allowed Mike and I to coast pretty fast down a number of hills. It wasn’t difficult on the way back, either, and Mike had time to do a couple of the hills over again. Like this one:

 

 

So, we head back to the parking lot, and figure we’ve got some time to kill, so we stop at the entrance to the southern part of the trail to check out the plaque:

and on we go. We started running short on time, so we did a mile of the trail from the plaque and doubled back. Before we turned, I noticed a robin on the side of the trail, and was surprised when it didn’t fly off as we approached. I was even more surprised to find it still there when we returned.

 

 

Judging from its looks, I think most of its younger days are behind it.

So, anyway, if you get the chance to do the Steel Mill Trail, there’s a lot of shady areas, there’s a nice rest area looking south toward the Steel Mill. And it’s very peaceful.

And if you take a bike, the hills are awesome.

Just ask Mike.

 

Added Note: I just received the following picture from Dennis Lamont, with the notation I’ve included under the picture. Thanks a ton, Dennis!!!

 

 

Here is a shot of the old LTRR bridge in your picture when it was new. 
Put into service around 1906 when the Steel plant decreed that
all “foreign railroads” must move out of the plant to the east side of
the river to make room for the new L&WV

Leave a Reply

