FISI – Already Getting Results

June 4th – This got posted here.

June 5th – This got written and

June 6th – This got posted there:

Notice to Abate

(click to enlarge)

Before you say anything, I know it’s only the grass. I would say let’s go baby-steps, but with the conditions of so many properties in Lorain being justhisclose to decrepit, do we really have time for baby-steps? Probably not, but it is a start.

Also notice that at the top left it says ‘Building Commissioner’, which means the Bill Desvari situation is obviously still in a state of flux, and there cannot be a new one appointed until a decision has been arrived at.

So folks, it’s open season for FISI. All you fans out there, hit me with those scary ones, and point me to the neighborhood assets. I’ve heard tell that there are some downright spooky buildings on the South Side. I don’t get out that way all that often so let me know so we can let the City know so that they can be addressed.

My email addy, as always, is heneryhawk1@yahoo.comΒ  . Feel free to let me know if I can give you credit for your suggestions or if you’d prefer to remain anonymous.

Moving On

Remember this one:

 

This property, just north of Mangine’s, was photographed on October 31, 2006.

Buster’s Momma just shot it May 31st here:

 

and June 7th here:

But get this, according to someone in the know, the City told the owner, John W. Carter, who’s also the owner of Mangine’s, that if he wanted the building to remain standing, it would have to be painted. So, he’s going to have the West and South sides of the building painted, as they’re the only sides seen from Colorado Ave.

Yo, City Hall, are you serious? This is how we address these situations? What about the roof?!

Mr. Carter has owned the property since 2004. Looking at the calendar, today is June 8, 2008. He’s had 3+ years to do something with this. Is he waiting for Spitzer to offer him something on the property? Does he expect the lots to be wanted by Spitzer to develop more of those townhouses? He’s current on his taxes, which would lead me to lean in that direction, so, if it’s going to be torn down anyway, why sink $$$ into it, right?

Bet he didn’t expect the market to tank the way it did, or that the townhouses would take this long to be snatched up.

Oooops.

So, there we are.Β 

We’re making progress.

Kinda.

(Another High-5 and a round of applause for the pics and research goes to Buster’s Momma. She’s getting pretty good at this, isn’t she?)

19 thoughts on “FISI – Already Getting Results

  1. Henrey,
    What’s wrong with the roof? I think that is one of them West Virginia sky lights/ fresh water collection units.

  2. Kudos to you too, Henery!
    Without you, there would be no FISI!
    You’ve made people sit up and take notice of the city around them like nobody else has. Too long TPTB have been operating under “if I don’t see it, then it doesn’t exist”. Now that you’re making people see it, changes are taking place and good things are starting to happen!
    Keep up the great work!

  3. Thanks, Momma! But I need to get going on my house shooting, because as of right now, you’ve contributed more pics to FISI this year than me!!! And for that, I give you a Great Big Thank You!! You’ve become my East Side Eyes!

  4. Henrey
    Don’t forget about the house on 39th Street that I told you about. While you are out that way could you check on the chickens and the pony?

  5. Thanks Loraine!

    Brian, you don’t have to go all that way to see chickens. Just go by the house on the NE corner of Indiana & E. They’ve converted the dog pen behind the garage into a chicken pen.

  6. LOL @ Loraine
    I might be in the running for that title after today’s adventure, if it doesn’t already belong to me. πŸ™‚
    Once I realized how important THE PONY was to Brian, you all know that I had to go find it.
    2 young men were passing the time throwing rocks at each other as I drove around (and around) the 38th/39th block. I stopped and asked one of them if he knew of anybody in the neighborhood who had a pony. He said no. I wish I could have taken a picture of the look on his face. LMAO!
    I think I found the right house, but THE PONY wasn’t outside. It must live in the garage, as I didn’t see any other buildings on the property – except for the house. The yard definitely looks like it holds something much larger than a big dog, but there was no “other noxious matter” (in the city’s words) to prove THE PONY lives there.
    I was going to ask one of the other neighbors the pony question, but I think that had I stopped, I would have interrupted an important business transaction and that could have been hazardous to my health. Time to head home.

    Brian, I have sent Henery additional information that he can share with you.

    Lorain, Ohio – Where The Fun Never Ends!

  7. Brian,
    THE PONY!!! I totally missed this! Thanks for the link! πŸ˜€
    We were definitely in 2 different places. I wish I had taken some pictures. I’ll just have to go back! After I get a vehicle that travels better on the surface of the moon than mine, of course. Those folks ought to be loudest about holding the city accountable for road repairs.
    I was just telling my husband about many stray dogs there were out there and how I almost stopped to try & pick up a German Shepherd pup. It was a tough decision: “Dog? Pony? Dog? Pony? Dog? PONY!!!” πŸ™‚ He said to thank you for the distraction.
    Sounds like it’s time for FISI:Animal Kingdom Edition! There’s always too many folks around for me to get pictures of the chickens on E Street. I’ll keep trying.

  8. That building sure looks pretty now!

    Makes me almost want to invest over a hundred thousand dollars to buy a new house across the street.

    NOT!!!!

Leave a Reply

