Old Stone Church – Stained Glass Windows

The Old Stone Church, long a downtown Cleveland landmark, has a congregation dating back to 1820. It was founded at a time when Cleveland was just a village of a few hundred people. As Cleveland has grown, The Old Stone Church has kept pace, becoming a symbol of spiritual leadership, community involvement and stability in the heart of the city.

In 1885, the window overlooking Public Square was dedicated in memory of Amasa Stone. This magnificent window was designed and executed by John LaFarge.

Amasa Stone window

Left                        Center                      Right

In 1885, the first of four Louis Comfort Tiffany windows was dedicated: “The Recording Angel.”

In 1915, a second Tiffany window, “Beside the Still Waters” was given.

 “Christ Blessing Little Children,” designed by J. and R. Lamb, was added in 1920.

Another Tiffany window, “The Sower,” was dedicated in 1930.

 

The Old Stone Church

Old Stone Church

To view any of these photos large, just click on the image. To view them even larger, go to the set at Flickr. Click on the image, then “All Sizes”, then “Original.”

5 thoughts on “Old Stone Church – Stained Glass Windows

  1. Henery, thanks for the bit of area history. I love churches and stained glass. ESPECIALLY Tiffany glass. If you ever find yourself in my neck of the woods, Winter Park, FL., be sure to visit the Tiffany Chapel. It will absolutely take your breath away. It’s one of my first stops every time I go home. Here’s a link to the site: http://www.morsemuseum.org/collection/chapel.htm

  2. Magnificent, and darn near irreplaceable.
    The Wade Chapel, the many vault windows and the Church in Elyria for our local Tiffany fix.
    I don’t know who did the windows in Nativity but watch the sun set thru the west ones for a color treat …..
    Thanks for those, we have lots of shots of the Old Stone Church from postcards but this it the first time I have seen the windows

  3. Thank you both. I’ll have shots of the interior beginning of next week, and some of the smaller stained glass as well.

    It’s really odd to see the Church surrounded by high rise buildings of today, while it’s been there since the early 1800’s.

    I’ve wanted to explore the Church for a long time and when I found that it’s open to the public, 5 days a week, I was pretty excited. The lone disappointment is that there are 4 tall windows that are obscured by the choir loft. One of them, the ‘Conversion of Paul on the Road to Damascus’ looks like it has some really stunning color in it, and the upstairs isn’t open to the public, otherwise, I’d have shot the part that’s visible.

  4. Thanks, all. We’re going over to Lake View Cemetery today to the Wade Chapel, coincidentally. I’m down on the square all the time, but I don’t know when the last time was I noticed the windows. I’ll be making a point of appreciating them from now on, so thanks, Henery.

    (We were in the Cathedral of Saint John the Evangelist, at East 9th and Superior, yesterday, and the rose window was looking pretty good, the one on the north side.)

  5. There were a few older churches that I saw on my way in to Cleveland last week, Tim. A few were right off of Rt. 2. I was very tempted to stop on the shoulder and run down the embankment.

    Had I more time, I’d have stopped. I’ll have to do some diggin’ and find which ones I might be able to get into.

    Thanks for stopping by, too!

Leave a Reply

