U.S. Brig Niagara

Didja ever, when you were young, dream of sailing the seas, plundering ports, living the life of a pirate or swashbuckler? Ok, neither did I. But I’ve always had a fascination for tall ships and the like. So, imagine my excitement when I got a call from my friend Brian Hazelett, with a promo job to spotlight the U.S. Brig Niagara for the Lorain Port Authority and “A Taste of History” that was taking place at Black River Landing  in Lorain the weekend of August 18 & 19th! I raced out of work only to be a few minutes late, for as I arrived at the Bascule Bridge, the Niagara was already passing beneath it.

Never fear, for as soon as the ship was docked and secured, we were waved aboard. The Niagara is not a large ship, but she’s obviously big enough to accomodate 25 paid  and 16 volunteer crew members (if I remember correctly).

(Brian and I have been using this Chair to highlight and promo various events and goings-on throughout our downtown area. We’ve done a few already at Scott’s website that we have the privilege of being a part of: The WoM Blog. The Chair debuted here, did Movie Night, Farmer’s Market, the second Rally, became Mayor, and then welcomed the Niagara.)

So, anyway, Captain Wesley W. Heerssen, Jr., obviously has a great sense of humor, and wants to welcome as many folks to his ship this weekend, as he went along with our storyline once he was filled in on how we were playing it.

He sat in the Chair, and then let it ‘pilot’ the ship to its moorings.

 

So, now it’s time to do some ‘extra-curricular’ shooting!!

The Captain was really enjoying this!!

Taste of History taking place in the background

Hope you enjoyed the pics as much as I did being able to take’em. And if ya didn’t, well, Arrrrrrr! You’ll walk the plank, ya land-lubbin’ scalawag!!

I always wanted to say that. Really.

One thought on “U.S. Brig Niagara

  1. all those ropes are very confusing.
    which one does one pull – why and when?

    It looks like the ship is made 73% out of rope!
    Kinda reminds me of Christmas tree lights or the microphone cord box that I use for my band…

Leave a Reply

